"SRBOTS ZORAVARATS" CHAPEL RE-OPENED IN AKHALTSKHA
.
.
AKHALTSKHA, MAY 11, NOYAN TAPAN - ARMENIANS TODAY.

On May 9, on the occasion of the holidays of the victory in the Great Patriotic War and liberation of Shoushi, the Srbots Zoravarats chapel was blessed and opened in the district of Marta, the city of Akhaltskha. The sanctuary was restored and reconstructed on the initiative and with efforts of a number of Armenian young people of Akhaltskha. Armenians of Samtskhe built in 1851 in this beautiful place of nature a small place for prayers and placed the Khachkar (cross stone) monument there. The sanctuary called by people "chapel of two brothers" became unique for Armenians of the settlement, flow of belivers has not stopped here even during the Soviet years. According to evidences of local inhabitation, the place for prayers, the Khachkar were destroyed by individuals 30 years ago, and other sactified stones were lost. Since those days 7 families destroyed the chapel has met awful tragedies, and they had to start looking for sanctifies stones and the Khachkar putting them on the same place. And on May 9, 2006, the order of blessing the reconstructed chapel was headed by Virahayots Diocese primate Bishop Vazgen Mirzakhanian, with participation of Samtskhe-Javakhk Monk Babken Salbiyan, implemented by Akhaltskha spiritual pastor Senior Priest Shmavon Saghoyan, Tbilisi Surb Gevorg church spiritual pastor Priest Narek Ghushchian. The chapel was named "Srbots Zoravarats" on the occasion of the day of victories. At the end of the ceremony, His Holiness Primate and Monk Babken congratulated the local Armenians on the occasions of the chapel's being blessed and the day of victory. He appreciated Akhaltskha Armenians' devotion to spiritual-cultural values and blessed builders undertaken the kind affair. As Noyan Tapan was informed by the Press Services of the Virahayots Diocese, the ceremony finished with traditional blessing of sacrifice and fete.