Noyan Tapan News Agency, Armenia
Oct 19 2006

Two dozens of MPs made a statement near the RA National Assembly building condemning the attack upon United Javakhk democratic bloc's presidency member Vahagn Chakhalian, activists Gurgen Shirinian and others organized on October 10 in Yerevan.

According to the statement authors, "RA law enforcement bodies instead of disclosing the rude crime towards national figures, adopted a policy of slurring over this case," moreover, of punishing the victims. It was mentioned that a few hours after the incident V.Chakhalian was arrested by National Security Service employees and was arrested two days later with an "absurd" accusation of illegally crossing RA state border. The MPs demand from law enforcement bodies to disclose and call to liability the author of the committed crime and to immediately release Vahagn Chakhalian or at least to remove the preventive punishment chosen for him, arrest.

As statement initiator Hmayak Hovhannisian said at the October 19 press briefing, "the bloc promoted activity that is beyond the control of both the Georgian authorities and the circles of Akhalkalak origin engaged in business who nestled in Yerevan and taking the opportunities and privileges given to them by the Georgian authorities also started a super-profitable business in Georgia, at the seaside." Without rendering it more concrete he hinted that one of the above mentioned persons is a RA MP and he was recently calling for making investments in Batumi on all TV channels.

The statement was signed by RA NA Ardarutiun (Justice) faction Head, PPA Chairman Stepan Demirchian and PPA members Grigor Haroutiunian, Vardan Mkrtchian, Stepan Zakarian, Edmon Tsaturian, members of the same faction, NDU Chairman Vazgen Manukian, DPA Chairman Aram Sargsian, NDP Chairman Arshak Sadoyan, Hrant Khachatrian, non-partisan MPs Hmayak Hovhannisian, Viktor Dallakian, Tatul Manaserian, Manuk Gasparian, NA State and Legal Issues Standing Committee Chairman, member of the People's Deputy group, RPA member Rafik Petrosian, and with some reservations Hanrapetutiun Party leader Aram Sargsian and member of the same party Smbat Ayvazian.